Lessons learned from a failed Interview-A keynote

Lessons learned from a failed Interview-A keynote

What is an Interview?

Interview is part of a recruitment process. An Interview means a formal meeting with professional vs freshers in any field.There are two modes of Interview 1)Face to Face Interview 2)Virtual Interview. The Interview depends on how well people prepare themselves. It also depends on the Interviewer too. Sometimes lack of patience,nervousness ,anxiety leads to a failed Interview.

Types of Interviews

There are several companies hire though on campus and off campus each year. Lot of students going through these phases. Some of companies prefer virtual Interview, virtual onboarding over work from office system. After pandemic hit on 2020 companies hiring through off campus mostly and they prefer hybrid work. Many students are getting placed over service based to product based also. On campuses hiring though college training and placement cell respectively.

Lessons from several Interview

There is different phrases for getting hired. For the service based companies they conduct two to three rounds mostly 1)Online Assessment 2)TR/HR 3)Offer Letter 4)Onboarding. Let me share one of my lesson It was 2021 I was prepared through some online websites for the aptitude and coding round. In the mean time the results came and I got rejection. Back to back I got rejections from very reputed companies, but I didn't shut down myself. Sharing some good websites for the preparations: indiabix.com/aptitude/questions-and-answers faceprep.in hackerrank.com

There are several product based companies I have given Interview with mostly, they've seven to eight phrases 1)Registration 2)Online Assessment 3) Technical Interview 1 3) Technical Interview 2 4)HR Round 5)Selection/Offer letter 6)Onboarding etc. They mostly focuses on Data structures and algorithms,operating systems,networking fundamentals,computer architecture etc. Being an Electronics student I felt some difficulties in coding for the first time but after that I prepared through leetcode,hackerrank etc. It was very very helpful to crack those technical Interviews though I was not selected they considered other students. Now facing rejections back to back strongly recommended everyone is that do basics clear first then go to higher level if wants to crack product based companies.

Some points for beginners

Before sitting for any Interview and online assessment make sure brush up skills first then make a best resume and prepare the topics that are mentioned.Secondly, focus on only one language like C/C++,Python,Java etc. Then go through department subjects and basic coding. There will be some cut off for coding and aptitude rounds so make sure prepare well. I have given Interviewed with many startups but in my experience they're mostly focused on new technologies not in data structures. Some of companies will reject students when they do resume screening first also send rejection mail.In my case, I have applied many companies but didn't get any reply from them. So for this students can ask their placement cell or send one mail to talent acquisition for further queries.

Keynotes from experience

Sometimes an well prepared student doesn't crack any jobs but an average students grab all the offers very first. In my experience, sometimes it depends on time or luck. But the main point is everyone is making harder and pushing with their timelines just to get good things. After given so many Interviews from startups to product based companies most of the time I failed because of anxiety,nervousness and patience Issues. The exact point is don't think about previous rejections it will leads to another rejection, no don't. In that time, I have opened my own startup, built one Github Community,mentored 100+ students from various open source events, I didn't give up. Still giving Interviews to some product based companies now and startups also. But my focus on only service based companies because as a fresher I want to enhance my skills through everyone and knowledge,projects will be ultimate things. It just varies one to everyone.
As Jay Shetty once said: ' Don't let anyone rush you with their timelines'.

Resources for preparations

hackerrank.com, leetcode.com, tutorialspoint.com/data_structures_algorith.., edureka.co/blog/cpp-tutorial, edureka.co/blog/interview-questions/python-.., interviewbit.com/python-interview-questions