How I enter Into GSSOC'22 - complete journey as a contributor. Sharing my experience here

What is open source?

Open source program is a software based event where people can showcase their knowledge and gain their skills. Lots of projects will involved in the event everyone contribute their skills throughout the event. On February I came across the Girlscript Summer Of Code for the first time. This program is for all not for only girls, everyone can participate join the event by registering. Link of the website: gssoc.girlscript.tech

How to register in Girlscript Summer Of Code?

Girlscript Summer Of Code is a 3month long event program by Girlscript Foundation. Where people just not code we share our network ,ratings and collaborate. So this is website of the Gssoc'22 where we need to register as our choice. We can participate as contributor ,mentor and project admin. I participated as a contributor. All we have to do code->push->merge. I am happy that successfully merged 40+ pull requests and learn new tech stack also improved my network.

Gssoc.PNG

After registering in the event I got a selection mail that where I got badge, participation access and join in the discord. And this is link of the website: gssoc.girlscript.tech
Whole program schedule: Gssoc3.PNG

Short Github guide for beginners

After got the selection mail go to the main website of Gssoc and checked all the tech stacks. My tech stack was html,css,js,react and I started creating the Issue. This is the project section of Gssoc: gssoc.girlscript.tech/project

Gssoc1.PNG

On a good note beginners need to create Issue and merge their pull requests in the event. People who will do huge number of PRs will get shoutout from the Gssoc. Until the Issue is assigned by the mentors can start work on it. So the quick guide for making pull requests is here:

1. Fork the repository.

2. Clone the forked repository.

git clone https://github.com/<your-github-username>/

3. Navigate to the project directory.

cd Project-Name

4. Create a new branch.

git checkout -b <your_branch_name>

5. Make changes.

6. Stage your changes and commit

git add -A

git commit -m "<your_commit_message>"

7. Push your local commits to the remote repo.

git push -u origin <your_branch_name>

8. Create a PR to develop !

9. Congratulations! :tada: Sit and relax, you've made your contribution to Project-Name. :v: :heart: 💥

After this when leaderboard will open we can see how many PRs merged. This is the leaderboard link: gssoc.girlscript.tech/leaderboard

Gssoc4.PNG

My Project Experience

I started with very beginner projects in html,css then contributed to other repositories. Since I participated in several open source programs I didn't faced problem for making pull requests. Here I am sharing the project repositories links where I contributed:

1) github.com/Kushal997-das/Project-Guidance
2) github.com/Dezenix/frontend-html-css-js
3) github.com/ZeroOctave/ZeroOctave-Javascript..
4) github.com/Ayush7614/Bundli-Frontend
5) github.com/khushi-purwar/WebDev-ProjectKart
6) github.com/Rayman-Sodhi/Clone-IT
7) github.com/harshita214/Chrome-Extension
8) github.com/swapnilsparsh/30DaysOfJavaScript
9) github.com/arpit456jain/Amazing-Css-Effects
10) github.com/arpit456jain/Amazing-Js-Effects
11) github.com/arpit456jain/Cool-Front-End-Temp..
12) github.com/ridsuteri/Awesome-Chrome-Extensi..

During the event I got merged 40+ pull requests. My tech stack mostly in Javascript, react. I am happy that my rank #29 at the end. The final leaderboard link here: gssoc.girlscript.tech/leaderboard

Gssoc2.PNG

What I gained at the end

Since this is my first Gssoc participation I got to learn lot of things and explored backend (which I'm learning now) also Improved my communication skills throughout the journey. Whenever I got stuck in the event I go to discord and ping my respective mentors . They were superb friendly and guided us in the whole journey. Now I stated learning about NextJs and UI/UX part. Hope in the next event I will contribute these skills. Also, I made some complex projects and deployed in my Github profile. I started writing blogs on Hashnode. I got to know how to write code documentations. Hopefully this experience will help in my future journey.

Conclusion

To be honest, If you are a beginner and want to start with open source then definitely register for this event. From March to May when Girlscript Summer of Code conducted. From August to November there will be Girlscript Winter of Code. Keep the eyes on the main website you'll get updates from here. gssoc.girlscript.tech

Lastly thank you for giving me this opportunity to explore myself. Hope to see the next event. Thank you so much all of my mentors for the guidance ❤